Code for Sustainable Homes (CSH) was historically required by many LPAs and funding provided for new dwellings. Like BREEAM the standard assessed the sustainability of new buildings in a range of categories, including:

  • Energy
  • Water
  • Materials
  • Surface Water Run-off
  • Waste
  • Pollution
  • Health & Wellbeing
  • Management
  • Ecology

The standard has now largely been phased out following the Housing Standards Review in 2015, however, some developments do still have legacy planning requirements to achieve CSH certification and in theory, you can still register a development to the scheme. Our qualified assessors can review requirements and liaise with LPAs to determine if there is still the need for assessment, in some cases this could be replaced with energy and water use requirements.

If a CSH assessment is required our qualified assessors are experienced at guiding teams through the assessment process to completing certification. We will work closely with your team to devise a realistic and achievable credit strategy and then develop tools and documents to aid in the collection of evidence.

In place of CSH, BRE have launched a voluntary standard for new dwellings: The Home Quality Mark.

Some examples of out past CSH work can be found here.

CSH case studies

SAP (Part L1A) and Code assessment for 12 dwellings – Buckinghamshire

Blewburton Limited worked with the developer from the early design stage providing advice on the most effective measures to take to achieve the desired Level 4 of the Code for Sustainable Homes, through to Design Stage submission and Post Construction Review. The construction subsequently won the LABC Central Building Excellence Award for Best Social or Affordable Housing Scheme.

Read More »